ColourQ Pink and Retro Sketch

Here today with a card for the ColourQ #157 combo and also Retro Sketches #31.

It took me a little while to get going on the Retro Sketch – a little outside my conventional comfort zone.  I found a few Copic-colored butterflies in my stash, though, and I opened a new embossing folder and some new cardstock for this card.

As it turns out, I enjoyed creating this card.  The sketch is great, and the colors are great.  Arielle’s color combo is actually a tribute to Breast Cancer Awareness month, and while I was creating this card, I thought of my own Grandmother who died in 2004 from breast cancer, only a few short months after our first child was born.  She was like a mother to me in many ways, for many years, and I cried a bit today because I still miss her every day.  It was sweet to remember the good times today.

Anyway.  Before I start crying again!….

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Butterfly Dreams, Healing Touch Sentiments (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  White Cardstock (Xpedx); Basic Gray, Melon Mambo Cardstocks (SU!)
Inks:  Basic Black (SU!); Tuxedo Black (Memento); Copic Markers
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections); Twine (The Twinery)
Tools:  Embossing Folder (Cuttlebug); Scallop Trim Border Die (SU!)

12 thoughts on “ColourQ Pink and Retro Sketch

  1. This turned out beautiful , great job with the butterflies . I’m so sorry you lost your grandmother, way too soon. I lost my younger sister to cancer…….I hate it! I don’t use that word often but it goes with cancer..

  2. BEAUTIFUL Ally and a lovely little tribute to your grandmother as well. Your butterflies from your stash are GREAT perfect for the challenge!!

  3. Beautiful card Ally! I love butterflies! I think you nailed this sketch! I will be pinning this card as I love, love, love butterflies and have some great Martha Stewart butterfly stamps. I lost my MIL to breast cancer in 2002 and I still miss her.

    Thanks for the lovely comment you left on my blog.

  4. Ally, your card is just perfection! LOVE the butterflies and the embossing! Thank you so much for playing with us at RetroSketches & colourQ this week!

  5. I just loved this Retrosketch, and you have used these butterflies beautifully! Thanks for joining us this week at the ColourQ with your wonderful creation!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

