Fab Friday and Play Date Splash

It’s a Saturday morning, and I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with myself, now that my guest spot with Dynamic Duos is finished!  I’ve had my Saturday morning posts pretty much all lined up for me through September, so I had to work up something else for today. 😉

I grabbed the Play Date Cafe #152 colors (a plum color splash), and the Fab Friday #3 sketch.  I flipped this sketch to the left, also.

I wasn’t sure these colors were meant for a birthday card, but I am usually in need of a birthday card, so I went with that theme.  The great thing about my family is that I can usually find some wonderfully ‘unconventional’ soul who will appreciate my unconventional cards. 😉

The flower is another one made from coffee filters.  I love the type of bulk that can be achieved with these!  They add so much depth while still being squishable for mailing.

I used some MFT dies and a Sweet & Sassy sentiment, along with a few rhinestones and a lovely little brad.  I have no idea what brand that brad is.  It’s been sitting in my stash for so long, out of its original package, no less.  I’d like to guess Making Memories, but it really was so long ago, I hardly remember.  Sorry!

I took a bit of liberty with the banner elements from the sketch, using the Leafy Flourish die cuts in place of the top and bottom banners.

I used some DCWV shimmer cardstock for the purple touches, so it has a little bit of a subtle shine to it in those spots.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Happy Birthdays (Sweet & Sassy Stamps) 
Paper/Cardstock:  White Cardstock (Xpedx); True Black (PTI); Shimmer Cardstock (DCWV); Designer Paper (K&Company): Coffee Filter
Inks:  Tuxedo Black (Memento)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Decorative Brad (Unknown Brand)
Tools:  Botanical Beauty Die, Large Leafy Flourish Die, Plentiful Petals Dies (MFT Stamps); Banner Trio Die (Wplus9)

10 thoughts on “Fab Friday and Play Date Splash

  1. Great interpretation of the sketch! I love that your flipped it and used the flourishes for 2 of the banners! Your coffee filter flower is fabulous as well! Thanks for sharing with us at Fab Friday!

  2. These coffee filter blooms of yours are so gorgeous Ally! Love the flourishes in place of the banners too.Very pretty card ~ have a great weekend!

  3. Very unique interpretation! That coffee filter flower is so cool and the swirls around the banner are wonderful! Great colors too!

  4. Pam Steckman says:

    Coffee filters?! Wow! What an awesome card and I just love the flowers! Thanks so much for playing along at Fab Friday! 🙂

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

