Adventures in Photography

Okay.  So, this is actually the first card I created with the Play Date Cafe #153 colors, but I’m not sure how close the colors are, really.  And I thought I was being brave using all that Summer Starfruit as my ‘pear’ substitute.  But I think what really happened is that I developed a real dislike for Summer Starfruit…

Anyway!  Here it is:

I’ve also been trying some light tent action for my photographs.  And the reason I’m trying that, is because when I tried to photograph this card using my usual method of operation, the Summer Starfruit totally wigged out on me and went all crazy!  I tried for several hours to get the colors to turn out right in photos.  I even spent additional hours trying to Photoshop the colors into obedience.  All to no avail.  The photos were seriously hideous, and there wasn’t a darn thing I could do about it!

So, to waste even MORE time…  I used my last few days of spare time before lessons to finally set up the light tent I purchased over a year ago (but have never used, out of pure fear) on my basement craft desk (which is also very neglected, favoring my kitchen counter and table for crafting instead), and I did a lot of experimenting with lighting and photography.  This is the best photo of this card I’ve been able to achieve over the last few days.

I’m not sure what I think of the white background from the light tent.  I guess I just prefer a dark background for my cards.  And to be fair, it could just be my inexperience and might improve with practice.  Let me know what you think of the photographs – any honest feedback you want to provide will be appreciated!

You can tell me what you think of the card, too, if you like.  I’m attributing this whole experience to the learning process!  Including the lesson on how to use Summer Starfruit sparingly and appropriately – LOL!

Before I forget, the image is a download I purchased from Sweet & Sassy stamps a year or so ago, which I have colored with Copics.  The sentiment is part of the image.

Thanks for stopping by today.   We’re starting lessons again this morning, so you might hear crickets between posts for the next few days.  😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Digital Image (Sweet & Sassy)
Paper/Cardstock:  White Cardstock (Xpedx); Summer Starfruit (SU!); Autumn Rose, Dark Chocolate (PTI)
Inks:  Copic Markers; Computer Printer
Embellishments:  Autumn Rose Grosgrain Ribbon (PTI); Lace (Offray)
Tools:  Seeing Spots Embossing Folder (Cuttlebug)

3 thoughts on “Adventures in Photography

  1. What a CUTE card Ally! LOVE the design and all of your elements in this one. I seriously NEED that polka dot embossing folder, just love it everywhere I see it. Yes Summer Starfruit is a tricky one isn’t it 😉

    My hubby bought a light tent for me several months ago. That’s what I use, but I added the quilted background to it. Actually it’s because my hubby likes it! I sorta like the drape that comes with the tent, the softness it gives to the backdrop for the project. I think your photo looks great girl!

  2. Those digital designs are awesome Ally and your design is just amazing. You are so talented.
    The dry embossing is fabulous and your Copic colouring amazing!

    I think your photo turned out wonderfully! My hubby bought me a light tent during the summer time and I am finding it so much better but the lights and white are washing my photos out a bit. I think it need to work on my camera settings.

  3. Just pure beautiful , Ally! This makes such a sweet baby card,Love the line between the trees. I have to admit i was not sure what summer starfruit was, I was looking for fruit in the tree……..yep lol! I think the photo looks beautiful ! I have been thinking about one of those tent things too. I have had so many problems with my photos. Beautiful coloring too Ally!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

