Rainy Day Thank You

We live at the foothills of a small mountain range, and we see from our windows this morning the first dusting of snow on those foothills.  It is a rainy day here, but I won’t be surprised to see snow on our lawn within a few hours, or by tomorrow morning, at least.  I am not quite ready for snow, I’ll confess.  But a rainy, stay-inside kind of day is just fine by me.

Yesterday was a busy day, since in addition to all the normal hustle and bustle of the day, the girls and I made the 2-hour trip to a dinner party for my brother who was visiting from Texas.  It was so good to see him again!  But I always cry at the thought of my big brother living so far away.  He and I have always had a very close relationship, and I miss him a great deal.  He was an absolute ROCK throughout the fairly-dysfunctional years in our younger lives, and I depended on his strength countless times.  But thank goodness we are still able to meet on occasion!

And while we were at the party, Hubby took my Little Man to his first day of wrestling camp.  Ack!!  Not sure I’m ready for this phase, either!  Life marches on, though.  😉

Anyway.  Here is another miscellaneous card, made a while ago for a design team call.

I think this was the first time I had used my Pretty Peonies stamp set, which I received way back in March, I believe.  And I really like it!  I truly do need to make a habit of using my new supplies once they arrive, rather than letting them sit unused for months and months.  I have so many fun, fabulous supplies, and I’m sure they feel neglected.  But with the life and family choices I’ve made, I just have to be happy with the small opportunities for leisure when they present themselves!

I really like this card.  I really like the Pretty Peonies stamps, and I love the Wplus9 frame and sentiment as well.  A little something that makes me smile in spite of the early snow outside my window.  😉  I cannot believe the year is almost at its end!!

Thanks for stopping by today!
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Very Vintage Greetings (Wplus9); Pretty Peonies (PTI)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White Cardstock (PTI)
Inks:  Winter Wisteria, Plum Pudding (PTI); Tuxedo Black (Memento)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections)
Tools:  Linen/Canvas Impression Plate (PTI)

4 thoughts on “Rainy Day Thank You

  1. Beautiful card Ally, I think that Pretty Peonies is one of my favourite stamps. I hope you don’t see snow this soon, although pretty, it also signifies winter. So glad you got to reconnect with your brother–I would do anything to have mine back.

  2. Awww Ally I’m so HAPPY that you got to have a visit with your big brother! My big brother (and only sibling) now lives in Michigan. I don’t get to see him as often as I would like. Every time I use my Pretty Peonies set I think of you 😉 LOVE it done up in this pretty color!! Lovely lovely card 🙂

  3. You certainly have a lot of great cards squirreled away! I love the depth you created on this one with the design stamped within the negative. The rich color Is stunning against white. So beautifully done, Ally.
    The onset of winter brings a mix of feelings, doesn’t it? I’m sure the mountains make a spectacular backdrop for each season. So glad you had time with your brother!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

