iSpy Sketch with Color Throwdown

As I mentioned a few days ago, outside of a bazillion Christmas cards, I’ve mostly just been using my Copic markers to practice coloring with them.  Not much original creativity going on here.  Once in a while, though, I feel like completing a card with one of the colored images, which is how I felt yesterday.

I am also competing with my 9-year-old daughter for computer time now, as she has suddenly taken more of an interest in typing, now that she knows she can type her made-up stories into Word instead of hand writing them.  I’m glad she’s typing and all, but between her and my husband’s after-hours computer work, I’ve pretty much been shut out of blogland the last few days!  LOL.

I used the iSpy Sketches #44 and Color Throwdown #220 challenges to help me pull a card together, since my brain is very much drained at present.  This card is the result:

TY-035-01

This is a Sweet & Sassy Stamps image, from the Flowers in Bloom set.  I added a bit of a glitter pen treatment to the flowers and the butterfly, so if you look at the close-up photo you may be able to detect a bit of sparkle.

The sentiment is from PTI’s Signature Greetings stamp set.  The dark chocolate CS layer is impressed with the Canvas side and the Kraft CS is impressed with the Linen side of the PTI’s Linen/Canvas Impression Plate, though you can hardly see either in the photos.  I also edge-inked the Kraft panel with some Tea Dye Distress ink.  The wide sheer ribbon is scrunched into place with an SU! brad, atop a small strip of Cherry Cobbler cardstock, and the flowers were fussy cut by hand and are raised with dimensional adhesive.

TY-035-4in1

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
CTD-220-and-ISS-44
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Flowers in Bloom (Sweet & Sassy Stamps); Signature Greetings (PTI)
Paper/Cardstock:  Oatmeal Cardstock (Wplus9); Classic Kraft, Dark Chocolate Cardstocks (PTI); White Cardstock (Xpedx)
Inks:  Tuxedo Black (Memento); Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger); Dark Chocolate (PTI); Copic Markers
Embellishments:  Decorative Brad (SU!); Ribbon (Offray); Glitter Pen
Tools:  Linen/Canvas Impression Plate (PTI)

7 thoughts on “iSpy Sketch with Color Throwdown

  1. Sorry your your brain is drained, but this card says otherwise! Beautiful color combo, love the cut-out flowers and the ribbon treatment is gorgeous! Somehow, the kraft background seems like an unexpected surprise to me. Another great job, Ally.

  2. How PRETTY Ally!!! I am over the moon for this pretty sheer ribbon and fancy brad treatment!
    Just wait…it’s the computer time now, but wait till she learns to drive! Our son and I shared a car while he was in high school and college. Between school, his part time job and dates I wasn’t behind the wheel much 😉

  3. Your sheer ribbon and the way you gathered it is just stunning, Ally! What a gorgeous card, love your cut out flowers and as always beautiful job coloring.
    I can just see you lined up waiting for computer time. I think its wonderful that your young daughter wants to write and use the computer, you are doing a great job.

  4. ALLY!!! This is beyond gorgeous!!! I LOVE the sheer ribbon over the rich red…gorgeous embellie holding it up too. Your coloring and fussy cutting are perfect as usual. Your cards rival any I’ve seen in a store…Allmark (Ally + Hallmark). Yup, I like it! lol

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

