CAS{E}’d Color Throwdown

Late last night, I was working ahead on my card for next week’s Dynamic Duos post.  And it felt so good to be crafting that I said to myself, “To heck with everything that needs to be done right now!  I’m just going to sit here and make another card!”  So I did.  It helped that there was a basketball game for Hubby to watch. 😉

I grabbed a couple of challenges to assist my tired mojo – CAS(E) This Sketch #13 and Color Throwdown #227, and I quickly created this card before bedtime:

TY-001-01

Lately, I’ve been working on organizing all my supplies so that I can find things faster to make my crafting time more efficient (which makes it more likely that I’ll craft at all!).  One of my beastly projects was my die-cut scrap pile.  I finally ended up purchasing a pack of 100 paper CD sleeves with the clear plastic center window.  I wrote the name and manufacturer of each die cut at the top of the sleeve and then put all the die cuts of that type into the sleeve.  It basically looks like this in the container:

????????

I easily went through the 100 pack in only 2 days of organizing, so I had to run out for more, and I’m not quite finished.  I’ll probably need a new container, as well.  What I have, so far, is a nicely organized container full of scrap die cuts which I can easily and quickly shuffle through to find leftover pieces first before I end up cutting more because I didn’t know where to find the scraps.  It is a HUGE time saver for me, and it makes me more likely to get crafty!  YAY!

At any rate, I used some Simple Sunflower scraps straight from this new organization system for this little card!  I’m so proud. 😉  I’ve also promised myself to use more of my neglected supplies this year, so I pulled out a single little button (from my gargantuan stash of neglected buttons!) to use on this card.

TY-001-4in1

Thanks for stopping by again today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
CTS-13-and-CTD-227
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Communique Curves Sentiments, Simple Sunflower, The Sweet Life (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Classic Kraft, Dark Chocolate, Rustic White Cardstocks (PTI); White Cardstock (Xpedx)
Inks:  Dark Chocolate (PTI); Regal Rose, Crumb Cake, Old Olive (SU!)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections); White Ribbon, Rustic Cream Button Twine (PTI); Misc Pink Button
Tools:  Thank You Set 5 Embossing Folder (Sizzix); Simple Sunflower, The Sweet Life Dies (PTI)

24 thoughts on “CAS{E}’d Color Throwdown

  1. This card is YOU! I love to see this sunflower in colors other than yellow, it’s so pretty. Happy to see you using up your stash. That’s what I hope to do too. Great organization tip 😉

  2. Beautiful card, clean lines and best of all, what a great organization idea. I’m also doing some re-organization. I am curious as to where you keep your dies and embossing folders? Can you share that? Thanks Ally for sharing your great creativity.

  3. I think this sunflower is my all time favorite die and stamp, its just happy and so versatile. This card is stunning with the beautiful embossed background. I really love the colors for this color Throwdown this week , beautiful ! Oh I love this organization .

  4. I love your card, Ally! That rose color with the white against the kraft is really pretty. And I love the diagonal lattice embossing with that flower!!

    Thanks for sharing your die cut organization. I’m so new at using dies that, so far, any extra cuts fit in the envelope with the die, in a system similar to what you are doing with the cuts. Eventually I’m sure I will need to bring in another container and do what you’ve done for those extra cuts that are perfectly useable.

  5. Peggy A says:

    What a beautiful card! Very cheerful. How great it is to be using your “leftover” supplies and what a great idea using the CD packages. I’ve been using sandwich size ziplocks but am considering your idea… keeping organized is definitely a work in progress. Thanks so much for sharing!

  6. Ardyth says:

    Gorgeous colour combination – love the lattice embossing on the panel! Thanks so much for playing along with this week’s CAS(E) This Sketch!

  7. Kay Miller says:

    Your card is just beautiful! I love the white on the craft background and the embossing looks wonderful! I like your organizing idea too. I keep all my extra pieces in little plastic trays and they take up too much room. I’m going to look into the cd sleeves!

  8. GORGEOUS card, Ally! Love the beautiful color combination here and the sunflower die is on my “wish list”. Love your organizational tip ~ I don’t have enough to dies to organize (yet) but I do have a pack of CD sleeves TFS 🙂

  9. Love the bright pop of color against the quiet neutral of kraft and crisp white. The embossing is just the right amount of texture too. Thanks for the great idea regarding filing those pesky little scrap die cuts! I can’t bear to throw them away, but I can never find what I want when I need it. I already use the cd sleeves for my dies, but didn’t think of a separate file for the die cuts. I’m reorganizing too, so this is very timely.
    Thaks for stopping by my blog, great to hear from you!

  10. Gorgeous card, Ally! Love the embossed background (looks like a trellis) and the perfectly scattered gems. Your die organization idea is a genius one! Thanks for playing along with CAS(E) This Sketch this week!

  11. This doesn’t look like a quickly made card! It’s fantastic Ally!!! I’m loving the embossing and the tag on the side is so pretty. So glad you played along with us in this week’s CAS(E) this Sketch!

  12. This is so lovely, Ally, the lattice embossing sets off the sweet flower beautifully and I adore the way you wrapped the button twine around the ribbon … perfect detailing! Anita 🙂

  13. Joan Ervin says:

    What a gorgeous CAS design….you have used the CTD colors beautifully!!! Thanks for joining us again for the Color Throwdown Challenge!!!

  14. This is such a pretty card! I love the pop of color from your flower and your embossed white panel! Thanks so much for joining us over at the Color Throwdown!

  15. Very Pretty! Love the scored background. The flowers pops out of the white background. Great take on the sketch. Thanks for playing along with us @ CAS(E) this Sketch Challenge:)

  16. Just wanted to say I saw your die-cut organisation on Pinterest today, and have spent quite some time trawling through your blog (and enjoying everything I saw there!) till I finally found it! a great idea, and now I can continue to save, without drowning in scraps! Thanks so much for sharing:)

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

