PTI Anniversary Designers’ Freebies 1

Today’s Papertrey Ink Anniversary challenge is to create something using the digital freebies that were created by the PTI designers.  I’ll confess that this is a tough challenge for me.  The images are fun and cute, but there’s something about it that makes me feel painted into a box in which I don’t quite belong.  The challenge, truly, is for me to make these images mine in some way!

At any rate, I chose to work first with the image that Heather Nichols created, and this is how I made it mine:

BDAY-002-01

I went with what I hope is a masculine feel for this card.  The background is Smokey Shadow cardstock, distressed around the edges and impressed with the By The Numbers impression plate.  You can see the impression better by enlarging the close-up photos, I think.

I used 3 printouts of the image for the focal point, so that I could cut out the middle square and raise the frame up on dimensionals and also raise the fussy-cut banner on dimensionals across that square opening.  It was trickier than I thought, but not too bad.

And of course, rhinestones.

BDAY-002-4IN1

You can find more of the digital freebies here on Nichole Heady’s blog.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Digital Image (Heather Nichols for Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White, Smokey Shadow Cardstocks (PTI)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections, Kaisercraft)
Tools:  By The Numbers Impression Plate (PTI); Square Nestabilities Die (Spellbinders); Rounded Corner Chomper (We R Memory Keepers)

11 thoughts on “PTI Anniversary Designers’ Freebies 1

  1. You most certainly made it your own! This is a perfect guy card Ally, I love that you made a little polaroid out of the free digi, well done!

    I had my heart set on that sweet little polka dot cup full of heart blooms. But when I printed it out the colors were off. We must be running low on some of our inks. Had to take a different route!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

