Bride and Groom CAS(E) This Sketch

I admit I’ve shared more than my share of bad news and frustration over the last few weeks, so I thought I’d better share some of the good news.  I received word from one of the companies that had a fraudulent account opened in my name, indicating that the account is recognized as such and will be closed immediately and word will be sent to the collections agency and to the credit reporting agencies to have them also recognize it as such.  So, one down,… heaven knows how many more to go!!  😉

Actually, I just need to hear from one more company, and that will take care of the two outstanding accounts that I do know of, for now.  I have no idea if there is still someone out there using my info at present.  I guess I may not know for a few years!  The things we’re dealing with now were opened back in 2009 and 2010, so it could still be happening.  Hopefully, though, it is becoming more difficult for them to operate with my information, and hopefully they’ll eventually get discouraged and quit.  Let me just dream for a minute, will you please?

Really, I just want to feel good about this one bright spot for a moment!  Then we can get back to reality.  If we must. 😉

We have a wedding to attend in a few weeks for my husband’s niece.  The colors for her wedding are red and gray (very dramatic!), so I tried to use those colors with the CAS(E) This Sketch #14 challenge to create a card to accompany our gift to the happy couple.

EDITED TO ADD:  This is the photo of the ‘after’ project.  Scroll down for the ‘before’ photo.  I changed out the twine for the white ribbon and moved the rhinestones from the red heart down to the bottom left of the silver circle.

WED-001-07

WED-001-01

You’ll have to let me know what you think about it, because it’s not quite sitting well with me and I don’t want to give out a dorky card, you know!  Hubby says it’s fine, but I’m not sure that’s completely comforting to me.

I think it might be the cream twine.  Or how I placed the rhinestones at the bottom of the heart.  Or something.  I put the rhinestones at the bottom of the heart because they seemed to interfere with the glitter on the paper at the top, but it seemed like the heart needed a little bit of distinction atop the ‘silver’ glitter circle.  Then the ‘silver’ glitter circle looked goofy to me next to the ‘actual’ silver heart charm I tied on with the twine.  Maybe it’s just that the ‘silver’ glitter circle is a bit too big.

I don’t know.  Do you know?

WED-001-4in1

At any rate, they are a cute little modern couple, so I figured this design might be fun for them.  But please, PLEASE tell me if this is a dorky card!  Before March 2nd, if you can.  So I don’t embarrass myself by putting it out into the world!!  I mean, embarrass myself any more than I already have by sharing it today, of course. 😉

Thanks for stopping by today!  Hope you’re having a great weekend.
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
14
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Wedding Cake (Sweet & Sassy)
Paper/Cardstock:  White Cardstock (Xpedx); Glitter Cardstock (DCWV); Red Glittered Designer Cardstock (We R Memory Keepers); Misc Black Cardstock
Inks:  Tuxedo Black (Memento)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections, Kaisercraft); Rustic Cream Button Twine (PTI); Misc Silver Charm
Tools:  Standard Circles Dies (Spellbinders); Heart Prints Die (PTI); Scrollmark Embossing Folder (Sizzix – Wedding #2 Pack); Scor Buddy

17 thoughts on “Bride and Groom CAS(E) This Sketch

  1. Peggy says:

    This is a beautiful card and I wouldn’t change a thing! The bride and groom will be so pleased as you used their colors and took so much time to make it special. It’s perfect for them. So enjoy the wedding! But I am glad to know I’m not the only one who worries about my creations. It just shows you care.

  2. I can’t even imagine what you’re going through with this identitiy theft. I hope this person DOES give up and gets a life of THEIR own! I love all of the sprinkled gems on this pretty card ~ even the ones on the heart! Your embossed background is perfect for a wedding. I think I agree with you on the cream twine. Just change that out and you are GOOD to go, the bride & groom will love it!!

  3. Beth Beninga says:

    I love this card! It is NOT dorky at all. It is very elegant.
    You wanted our thoughts so here gores;
    I would use silver thread or thin cording, not bakers twine.
    The large silver glitter circle I think needs to be changed, to what I am not sure???
    My first thoughts were it is too big & doesn’t flow with rest of the card. I liked
    Cheryl’s idea of a silver heart.

  4. christi in ma says:

    Good luck with the identity theft. That is such a nightmare that you have to keep dealing with these accounts popping up. I love the embossed background on the card. But the twine seems a little rustic with all the elegant and shiny elements. Perhaps swap it out for a silver thread or a chiffon ribbon?

  5. Nancy L. says:

    The card looks great just the way it is! So sorry to hear about your personal battles! Hope all gets resolved quickly…must be a terrible thing to deal with! Hugs!

  6. BINGO Ally! This white ribbon is the perfect answer (quite elegant) and I think the charms show up even more now! Funny how little things make a big difference 😉

  7. You’re so sweet, Ally! Your card was really gorgilicious the first way, but with the change, I’ll be honest, it went up to stunning! There isn’t a big gap between the two categories OBTW, but if you have stunning voices in your head, you might as well do what they say! I have found that to be true for me!

  8. Ardyth says:

    So pretty – I love the little charms! Thanks so much for playing along with this week’s CAS(E) This Sketch!

  9. Love the placement of the blink of this card and the charm is beautiful card. This is just gorgeous. So happy you shared it with us at CAS(E) this Sketch!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

