Dynamic Duos #41

It’s Monochromatic week at Dynamic Duos, with the colors Island Indigo and Pool Party.

41

A few weeks ago, Hubby asked for a ‘manly’ birthday card that he could take to work for he and his co-workers to sign and then give to someone in their department.  I was a little embarrassed to find only 2 manly cards to choose from in my stash.  So I resolved to create a few more masculine cards, even though they’re not really my favorite to create.

So I used these colors to create a card that I thought would be a little bit more on the masculine side.

BDAY-004-01

Although in hindsight, I’m not sure the fancy cursive font is very manly, but I suppose it could be.  I used Versamark to stamp the stars onto Pool Party cardstock squares which were cut with my Take Three die, then I heat embossed them with white powder.  I sponged a bit of Island Indigo ink around the edges of each square for a bit of shading.  Couldn’t really figure out where to put rhinestones, but eventually settled on this arrangement.

I began creating this card a few days ago, just before cooking up a Crock Pot full of creamy chicken noodle soup for Hubby to take to a church activity.  Life was a little crazy that day, and I ended up reaching for the Crock Pot without realizing that Crock Pots actually do get very, very hot in a remarkably short amount of time.  Consequently, I burned the heck out of my index finger, and then had to attempt finishing the card in that sorry and painful state.

BDAY-004-4in1

Anyhoo.  Make sure you stop in to see what the rest of the Design Team have created and to check out the details for this challenge.  I hope you will participate with us!

Allyson Andersen (me) | Christina Barnes | Vicki Burdick | Karen Day | Deanna Dean
Jenny Engelke | Anne Marie Hile | Erna Logtenberg | Bobbie Trost | Amy White
 

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Seeing Stars (Verve); Think Big Favorites #13 (PTI)
Paper/Cardstock:  White Cardstock (Xpedx); Classic Kraft Cardstock (PTI); Island Indigo Cardstock and Pool Party Designer Paper (SU!)
Inks:  Island Indigo (SU!); Versamark
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections, Kaisercraft); White Embossing Powder
Tools:  Take Three Die (PTI)

18 thoughts on “Dynamic Duos #41

  1. Jan D., Florida says:

    Love it when I see masculine cards….I don’t think I’m alone when I say it’s not easy making masculine cards….love what you did. TFS

  2. Karen Day says:

    Ally, I’m on the same mission as you – to build up my ‘guy card’ stash! This one is perfect – I especially like the dark sponging around the stars, subtle but really effective. Hope your finger is healing!

  3. Perfect card for your guy stash Ally! The stripes and kraft add those manly touches and I think the font is just fine ~ men like a little flare now and then too!! Sorry about the boo boo 😦

  4. Love this card Ally, the kraft looks wonderful with these colors!! I love the stars and the little rhinestones!! Sorry about your burnt finger but the card is amazing!!!

  5. I’m so sorry about your finger, Ally! I think you created a fantastic manly birthday card with your design and these great colors. The thing to remember is that men aren’t (usually) into the details like women. The bling will be underappreciated and the font will be just fine. What will be noticed by the guy who gets this will be the three big STARS. You know what I’m saying? Stars! He ‘s gonna love it!!

  6. Ally, I just LOVE the stars sponged like this! The color combo is fabulous and I think it’s masculine too. Ouch, so sorry about your burned finger!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

