Dynamic Duos #48

Today’s Dynamic Duos challenge is for the colors Bashful Blue and Pumpkin Pie.

48

Not a combo I would normally choose, as you know!  So I immediately went all fetal position with my usual response to situations like this – minimize that stinkin’ color as much as humanly possible.  LOL!

TY-005-01

I bought this cute little Hero Arts rubber stamp at Michael’s a month or so ago, and I thought it might be a fun element to use for these colors.  I colored it with my Copic markers, added a few touches of glitter pen to the orange spots for a little sparkle, and then fussy cut it to adhere it with foam adhesive.  My blue is a bit darker than Bashful Blue is, but I tried to pick from my limited supply of Copic markers those that were relatively close.

Since I am COMPLETELY DAFT when it comes to orange, I just played it safe and used an all-white card to highlight the image in the center of a negative-die-cut opening.  I used Tuxedo Black ink for the sentiment, stamping off once to lighten it up just a smidgen.

I’m so sorry not to be more spectacular with these colors (as if I ever AM spectacular! haha), but it’s tough to get a decent card out of me with orange, let alone a spectacular card with orange!

TY-005-4in1

Make sure you stop in to see what the rest of the Design Team have created and to check out the details for this challenge.  I hope you’ll participate with us!

Allyson Andersen (me) | Christina Barnes | Vicki Burdick | Karen Day | Deanna Dean
Jenny Engelke | Anne Marie Hile | Erna Logtenberg | Bobbie Trost | Amy White
 

Thanks for stopping by today, and Happy Weekend! 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Butterfly Stamp (Hero Arts); Framed Greetings (MFT Stamps)
Paper/Cardstock:  White Cardstock (Xpedx)
Inks:  Tuxedo Black (Memento); Copic Markers
Embellishments:  Glitter Pen
Tools:  Standard Circles Die (Spellbinders)

20 thoughts on “Dynamic Duos #48

  1. Karen Day says:

    Ally, I loved this card from the minute you first posted it!! It’s a really great card design with the way you used the negative die cut – I may be casing this!

  2. You are a HOOT girl!! Now about this card…it falls into the spectacular category for sure! You blended this color combo together perfectly and you EVEN made the orange look good!! A fun design too with your butterfly fluttering above the negative circle. Have a great weekend 😉

  3. Terri says:

    Such a pretty card! I like orange and blue and it looks awesome on your butterfly.Great use of a negative.

    Ter 😉

  4. You make me laugh ! I love that you only used a tiny bit of the color you did not feel comfortable with, I also like the butterfly you used. This turned out great as all your designs do. Love it Ally! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  5. umm… not my favorite combo either Ally! You created a BEAUTY even though LOL!!! I REALLY REALLY looooooove it 🙂 I think I’m gonna have to case this!!!

  6. Jill says:

    I think you did a great job with the color combo. I actually liked using the colors of the orange and blue together, (to my surprise) and I’m sure I will be trying to make more cards using this color combo

  7. Bobbie Trost says:

    I think you are spectacular also!! I chuckled at your fetal position statement, as I do a bit of pouting myself. I love this CAS card, the negative space, and the mad coloring!

  8. Ally your butterfly is gorgeous, my goodness your Copic colouring skills are phenomenal! I remember when you got your first markers and were so critical of yourself, you rock it now girl!

  9. Ally, you crack me up! Loved reading you post. Your card is stunning! The clean design really makes that gorgeous butterfly pop! Your shading is fantastic. The perfect amount of your “favorite” color, too. 😉 Hugs!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

