A Triple

It’s been a while since I’ve achieved a triple with one card.  I have really enjoyed the 2 design teams on which I’ve been included, but because of my schedule as a homeschooling parent, the responsibilities of those DT positions have had a weird way of dictating how my crafting time is spent – when to create a card, the parameters/confines of my projects, which blogs to comment on first, etc.  It has been fun and a blessing, it has also been a responsibility that doesn’t always leave me with much flexibility for how my crafting time is spent.

Not sure what I’m wanting to say!  Just going through change right now and trying to see where that leaves me.  Looking forward to a little more self-directed blog commenting as well as more self-directed projects, too, I guess.  😉  I hope that doesn’t sound ungrateful of me!

Back to the topic, though.  This little card was created with 3 challenges in mind:
CAS-ual Fridays #100 (Tic-Tac-Toe Challenge).
ColourQ #187.
CAS(E) This Sketch #26.

BDAY-015-01

I chose the top-right corner diagonal down to bottom-left corner on the CAS-ual Fridays board, using a birthday theme with bling and dies/punches.  I used two dies for this – the Piestra Tile die on some Midnight Muse cardstock, and the Faux Crochet Border die on some Pretty in Pink cardstock.  The butterfly is also from MFT Stamps, and the sentiment is by Papertrey Ink.  I spritzed the butterfly with some Sparkle shimmer spray and added the rhinestone flourish for the butterfly trail as my ‘bling.’

BDAY-015-4in1

As you can see, I flipped the sketch 180 and took quite a bit of liberty with the rectangle panel and sentiment location.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉  I am hoping to get caught up on my ‘self-directed’ commenting soon, so hopefully you can expect to see me around more!
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
CTS-26-and-CFC-100-and-CQ-1
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Inspired by Butterflies (MFT Stamps); Quilled Elegance (PTI)
Paper/Cardstock:  White Cardstock (Xpedx); Midnight Muse, Pretty in Pink Cardstocks (SU!)
Inks:  Tuxedo Black (Memento); Wisteria Wonder (SU!); Copic Markers
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections); Sparkle Spray (Tsukineko)
Tools:   Piestra Tile Die (Memory Box); Faux Crochet Border Die (MFT Stamps; Rounded Corner Chomper (We R Memory Keepers)

15 thoughts on “A Triple

  1. Oh this turned out so pretty! I was not sure how to use those colors but you did a great job. Three challenges good for you! I don’t know how you find the time to do it all.

  2. Your triple play looks like a home run to me Ally! The Piestra Tile background is perfect with your pretty butterfly. Very pretty card! Have a great weekend 😉

  3. Your card is lovely, Allyson, the design is fabulous and I love the butterfly! Thanks for sharing your card with us at the colourQ.

  4. Love the bling with your butterfly! I totally get where you are coming from! I love being on the DT…but sometimes those are the only projects I can get done! Like I should be stamping at the moment and not off cruising around blogland!

  5. Deanna Jean says:

    Allyson, this butterfly is beautiful! So glad you joined us at ColourQ this week.

  6. Jill says:

    Great card…I also understand where you are coming from. Being the a past member of a design team…it was fun, I enjoyed it…but it didn’t leave much time for anything else…

  7. Ardyth says:

    Love how the little cut outs almost look like lots of little butterflies and also echo the pattern on the big butterfly’s wings! Thank you for playing along with us at CAS(E) This Sketch this week!

  8. Totally know what you mean about DTs. It’s fun to be on them but it is a big time commitment! Glad you got to have some fun and play for this card and the result is stunning! Love that gorgeous butterfly and the Piestra Tile die and the touch of pink is perfect! Thanks for playing along with CAS(E) This Sketch this week!

  9. Very pretty card! I particularly like the touch of pink. Thanks so much for joining in the fun over at CAS-ual Fridays!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

