A Double

By keeping things simple, I was able to create two cards in my ‘spare’ moments on Friday.  This card today was created for the Color Throwdown #240 and Seize the Birthday #16 challenges.  I flipped the sketch upside down.

BDAY-016-01

I wanted to use my neglected Big Wish stamp set by Verve, which has this lovely little cake image.  I used each of the specified colors on that one little image (though you might have to look closely to spot the apricot and limeade!) and then used a glitter pen to add a few strokes of sparkle to it – on the candle flames, the flourishes on the cake, and the flower petals.

The card base is Smokey Shadow, and I used Wisteria Wonder for a mat layer.  The top portion of the main white panel was embossed with PTI’s By The Number impression plate, and I tied a knot of Aqua Mist ribbon to hide the dividing line.  The sentiment is from Wplus9’s Embroidered Bouquet stamp set.

BDAY-016-4in1

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
CTD-240-and-STB-16
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Embroidered Bouquet (Wplus9); Big Wish (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Smokey Shadow Cardstock (PTI); Wisteria Wonder Cardstock (SU!); White Cardstock (Xpedx)
Inks:  Tuxedo Black (Memento); Wisteria Wonder (SU!); Copic Markers
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections, Kaisercraft); Glitter Pen; Stitched Ribbon (PTI)
Tools:   By The Numbers Impression Plate (PTI)

12 thoughts on “A Double

  1. Wow Ally, those colours look amazing on this card and that cake is adorable, I have never seen this Verve set before. I love the embossed numbers too!!! So happy you joined us at Seize the Birthday!!

  2. bronih says:

    What an awesome card for the 2 challenges, Ally! I LOVE how you used the colors! Thanks so much for playing along in the Color Throwdown with us this week!

  3. Joan Ervin says:

    What a wonderful CAS design…the little cake is just tooo cute and I love the embossed background!!! Thanks for joining us for the Color Throwdown Challenge!!!!

  4. How pretty Ally! I love tha fancy little birthday cake and your embossed numbers. And look at you, a double play you’re on a roll 😉

  5. I just love this birthday card. It is so simple and colored just beautifully. It caught my eye because of the cake! I’ve got that Verve cake, and now I know just what to do with it.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

