Monday Muse 31

Well, I had some supplies out on the table after creating a card for Marybeth’s birthday blog hop, so I went ahead and made one more card before begrudgingly putting everything away.  This was inspired by the Monday Muse #31 challenge by Marion Vagg.

I love the beautiful, colorful, and bold simplicity of Marion’s creations, so I gravitate towards pretty much wanting to CASE them down to the last detail!  For today’s card, though, I was taken with the lovely colors, the simple layout, and the row of flowers.

WELL-003-01

Though I haven’t been creating much this past month, I certainly haven’t stopped myself from purchasing new supplies!  From amongst my shipment of new stamp sets, I wanted to try this Stamp A Garden set from Hero Arts.  I stamped the row and colored them with Copic markers.  Then I made the mistake of adding some touches of glitter pen to the flowers.  All that did was make them look dingy and poorly colored, I think.

I had a good time creating the card, though.

WELL-003-4in1

I’m happy I had the opportunity to create a couple of cards this week.  Definitely a bright spot!  We ended up in the hospital ER Thursday night where Hubby was apparently passing a kidney stone or two, or however many.  Our boy was very frightened by the whole ordeal, and I tend to freak out about things like that as well, so it was a challenge to stay calm to comfort him while getting DH to the hospital.

Hospital trips are never fun!  But I am grateful that it wasn’t something more life threatening.  We have some big plans for the next week, and I think we’re all relieved that they won’t have to be cancelled.  All that aside, though, I just really love my guy and I’m glad he’s okay!  I would be a complete MESS without him in my life!!!  I could use a little extra sleep, though, to recover from the insane adrenaline rush…

We’ll be busy again in the next few weeks, so I suppose this is a bit of a hit-and-run post.  But thank you for stopping by today.  I miss you all and my blogging fun!  😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Stamp A Garden (Hero Arts); Rose Collage (Sweet & Sassy Stamps)
Paper/Cardstock:  White Cardstock (Xpedx); Basic Gray Cardstock (SU); Autumn Rose Cardstock and Hawaiian Shores Designer Paper (PTI)
Inks:  Tuxedo Black (Memento); Copic Markers
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections); Glitter Pen

10 thoughts on “Monday Muse 31

  1. Peggy A says:

    So glad to see your cheerful card! Love your color choices. It would brighten my day if I were sick (glitter and all). Your cards are always so bright and cheery. And, thank you for giving us the details. I like learning what you use.
    Isn’t crafting a wonderfully, relaxing “get-away”? I guess if we could do it 24/7 it wouldn’t be that way. Still… I’m glad for you that you’ve had some of that fun time. Sounds like you’ve needed it!
    My hubby of 40+ yrs has had kidney stones, too, and I can relate to the stress. His first attack, we were actually backpacking in the middle of nowhere. Very scary! Getting him to a hospital was an ordeal and a half. Plus, not knowing what was wrong. Our daughter was with us. She was a teenager then and the two of us were able to stay calm and focused. I remember, it was afterward that I fell apart!
    Life can be a roller coaster ride, with ups and downs. I appreciate you are trying to see the positives, even on the downward parts.
    Take care!

  2. What a sweet row of flowers, I like their leaves!! Cute card Ally. Holy smokes I’m glad your hubby is okay. Kidney stones are NO fun. I had one years and years ago, such awful pain. So sorry your little guy had such a hard time, poor baby. Glad our plans for next week are a go 😉

  3. Ardyth says:

    This is a really fun take on this week’s Muse- Thanks so much for playing along! (Glad your hubby’s ok, too!)

  4. Love the funky flowers you used and the great colors! Hope your hubby is feeling better. I had a friend go through this two weeks ago and it was a week long ordeal for her.

  5. What a fabulous card Ally. I love it and I don’t think the flowers looked washed out at all. Hop your hubby (and you) are OK. Thanks for playing along at Muse this week. I love your card.

  6. I was gone all day yesterday, sorry I never had a chance to comment until now.
    I am sorry you had that scare,but so happy your DH will be ok. Your pool little guy. So nice to see you get another beautiful card in. Love the colors as you softened them up. You made me laugh because you still buy supplies….we were talking about that yesterday at Joyce’s …we all have more than we need but love to buy !
    Hope you have a blessed week Ally!
    Thanks again for the BD hop.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

