Projects

It’s been a few months, eh?  I hope life has been treating you all well.

Life has been an interesting ride for me.  With some pressure from my Sweetheart, I managed to (reluctantly) create my annual batch of 150+ cards for Christmas gifts at the end of November.  I wasn’t really up for it, but he insists that his co-workers and our neighbor friends really appreciate them.  So I gave in and got it done at the last minute.

Christmas was a fun time, and I think I might actually survive the winter, now that we’re already to the end of January.  It’s been a long month for me, as it usually is.  I’m looking forward to Springtime and less time wrapped up in layers and jackets and such to keep warm.

I haven’t created many cards at all, since November.  I’ve been occupied with other plans for our local Cub Scout Pack.  I am the new Committee Chairperson, and my Hubby is the new Cub Master, so we will be the hosts for this year’s Blue & Gold Banquet in February.  Although I don’t have any cards to share today, I thought I’d share a few photos of the projects I’ve been working on lately.

I made 6 of these medallion centerpieces for the dinner tables.  The large medallion has the Cub Scout patch logo on it, and the four smaller medallions have the Bobcat, Wolf, Bear, and Webelos patch logos on them.   I plan to replace the blue and white ribbons with something else that blends better.

medallions-singlemedallions-group
Then 6 of these pennant centerpieces.  Each of the pennants has one of the 12 words from the Boy Scout law, with a 3D star in the center.  I wrapped the jars with some blue burlap and tied it together with a piece of yellow/white twine.  I just used a pack of cheap BBQ skewers from the grocery store for all the sticks in these centerpieces.

pennants-01

pennants-02

Then, I created 8 of these little campfire jars.  When Hubby trimmed our trees, I had him cut the trimmed branches into pieces.  I hot-glued them in an arrangement around a flat jar with red, orange, and yellow tissue papers scrunched up in them.  I have some blue mini milk jugs to set next to them in which I will put about 10 marshmallow pops to complete the little “roasting S’mores” scene.

campfire

I bought some blue and yellow napkins at Wal-mart to wrap up the plastic utensils with a little band that reads “Do Your Best” from the Cub Scout Motto.  I used repositionable mailing labels to create the band so it will come off easily and not tear up the napkin when people unwrap the utensils to eat.

utensil-wraps

As our guests walk out the door, they will see a table covered with these little parting-favor candy bags.  I used permanent labels for the Nugget wraps, printing out various digital papers onto them for the different patterns.  Then I printed out the papers in a smaller scale onto more labels, punching them out with a small circle hand punch to stick on the bottom of the Hershey Kisses.  I created the topper labels on the computer, and the little bags are from Hubby’s work.  I also did little packs with mini Reese’s peanut butter cups and then some with mini Nestle Crunch bars to stick with the blue and yellow color theme.

wrapped-candy

I also created a few display boards with a little caricature printout of each of the Cub Scouts in our Pack.  There are 25 boys in our Pack, so it was quite a project.

We also assembled a little kit of misc household items (toothpicks, paper cup, straw, paper plate, rubber bands, paper clips, etc.) for them to use to create something to put on display.  I printed out 2 simple digital Thank You cards for each scout to write a little note of thanks to their Den leaders.

So, though I haven’t been creating many cards lately, I have definitely been creating!  I’ve been working on all this for about 3 months, and I am happy to have it all mostly done, with only a few loose ends to tie.  We have 2 weeks until the Banquet, and we will be expecting about 120 people.  My next project in a week will be baking and food prep.  Thankfully, we have many wonderful, involved parents in our Pack, so I will have help with the food for that night.

It’s been a lot of work, and I am looking forward to being done with this event. 😉

I don’t take any credit for these projects.  I found all the ideas on the internet, just adding my own little spin to each of them.

Thanks so much for stopping by today.  I’m hoping to get back into card making soon, and maybe having a little time to blog again.
-Ally

10 thoughts on “Projects

  1. Hi Ally, I was just thinking about you the other and was hoping you were well. Obviously you have been one busy busy lady. All of your projects for the Scout dinner are so fantastic. You may not be making cards but youa re definitely paper crafting!! ~hugs to you my friend

  2. Hi Ally…so nice to see all these amazing projects! I love the fire…you and your husband did a great job. You sure made some amazing projects. I think your husband nudged you into making all those cards for Christmas because he knows it makes you happy to be creating.
    Thanks for sharing. Jean from a Kept Life has some amazing scout projects you might like …her son Is Eagle Scout now.

  3. You are going to have some happy happy people at your scout dinner Ally!! Your projects are all as cute as can be with your special “Ally spin” on them!! I LOVE the cute campfire, I’ve never seen anything like this! Even though you had a nudge from your hubby for the Christmas cards, I’ll bet it felt good huh. I’m with you on the bundling up, I don’t like to wear winter coats. Were in a deep freeze here, I high of ten today!!! So good to see a post from you. Take care {{HUGS}} 😉

  4. Kristen says:

    Wow, that’s a LOT of work!! But all so creative and cute!! I bet if you wanted to make a ton of those, you could sell those along with your cards! Nice work – good luck with the banquet, it will be great!

  5. So good to hear from you, Ally! Thanks for your sweet words of encouragement.
    I am blown away with your Boy Scout project. Every detail so perfectly executed. I know all attendees will appreciate and enjoy your imaginative hospitality. What a great example to all of those little boys and their families. I look forward to seeing some springtime card projects from you soon. (and a little springtime weather to help us all keep going!)

  6. Hey Ally, It is so nice to see you creating. These projects are amazing! Hope you are well, and look forward to seeing you back here making cards. I miss your beautiful inspiration.Warm wishes and hugs to ya!

  7. Collene says:

    How do you make the medallions (folded paper fans) in the first centerpiece? Can you buy them already made?
    Collene

  8. Laci says:

    How do you make the medallions (folded paper fans) in the first centerpiece? Can you buy them already made

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

