Viva La Verve and Color Throwdown 179

Thank goodness for sketch and color challenges, because I wouldn’t be creating any cards right now, without them.  Well, I guess that, and the fact that I am getting used to the new computer.  That, and I spent just about all day in the kitchen yesterday making cookie dough to freeze, banana bread, granola, and a big breakfast.  And then we had to change the locks on both our doors because the old ones were falling to pieces.  And there was a nasty stench in the garage building up for the last few weeks, so we tore the place apart looking for that because my nose is sensitive and little smells make me want to pass out, not to mention big nasty garage smells!

So I guess there’s more than one reason why I’m not in much of a creative mood right now. 😉

But back to business!  I made use of the Viva La Verve February Week 2 sketch and the Color Throwdown #179 combo.  Although, I will admit that I took much liberty on the sketch, because the two uneven panels just weren’t working for me, no matter how I tried to work them.  I am just NOT that creative!  So I finally resorted to just adding a big-scallop element next to the tall panel and called it good.

I also took great liberty on this card, with my interpretation of Poppy Parade and Blushing Bride.  I just used what I had that I thought was close and that I liked.  And the flower is not one of my ‘vacation flowers,’ but is a Stampin’ Up! flower that I purchased a long, long time ago and am finally using.  (One out of the 9 in the package, anyway.)

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Great Friend (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Kraft, Vintage Cream (PTI); Red Cardstock (DCWV); Designer Paper (K&Company)
Inks:  Dark Chocolate (PTI); Brown (Stampabilities)
Embellishments:  Lace (Offray); Pink Ribbon, Crochet Flower (SU!); Decorative Brads (I don’t know the brand); Machine Stitching
Tools:  Jumbo Scallop Die (My Favorite Things); Sewing Machine

5 thoughts on “Viva La Verve and Color Throwdown 179

  1. Such a pretty frilly card Ally! Love the ribbon/lace treatment and how you’ve interpreted the sketch. I’ve been sorting through some of my supplies and can’t believe how long I’ve had some stuff ~ eeeek!!!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.