CAS(E) This Sketch with ColourQ

We had company for dinner tonight, and I worked off a little bit of the stress by creating a really simple card for two challenges – ColourQ #159 and CAS(E) This Sketch #2.  This is my first attempt at the CAS(E) challenge, and I did turn the sketch 180 degrees and move the sentiment a bit.

I’ll just admit right here and now, I’m not sure this card works for me.  It’s a little bit sympathy, a little bit autumn, a little bit whimsy, and who knows what else!  Hopefully it’s just that making dinner for company makes me feel a little overwhelmed, and not that this is a ridiculous card…

And, I know the CAS(E) challenge is for clean and simple creations, and I really did try to keep it clean and simple!  But amongst the day’s busy activities, I found myself sneaking back over and over again to add ‘just one more thing.’   First, a linen impression.  Then, some twine at the top.  Just a couple of rhinestones in the corner.  And, what the heck – how about a few more by the sentiment!

Meh.

Anyway, this is the first time I’ve used my There She Goes Treemendous stamp set.  And the sentiment is from a new Hero Arts set I picked up at Hobby Lobby, I think, called With Sympathy.

Thanks for stopping by today.   I hope the coming week will be a good one for you!  😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Treemendous (There She Goes); With Sympathy (Hero Arts)
Paper/Cardstock:  White Cardstock (Xpedx); Simply Chartreuse Cardstock (PTI); Crumb Cake Cardstock (SU!)
Inks:  Tuxedo Black (Memento); Orange Zest, Simply Chartreuse, Summer Sunrise (PTI); Crumb Cake (SU!)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections); Rustic Cream Button Twine (PTI)
Tools:  Linen/Canvas Impression Plate (PTI)

11 thoughts on “CAS(E) This Sketch with ColourQ

  1. I think gems and twine still qualify for CAS…well they do in my book anyway! 😉 What a fun little tree Ally and I like the multi colored Autumn leaves. Also love the way the tree curves around the sentiment sort of giving it a warm hug.

    Hope you dinner went well and that you have a blessed and delightful week!

  2. I don’t think you added too much at all. I love all the element myself. There is still plenty of white space to be CAS to me.

  3. It really does work! It’s still very clean with all of that lovely white space and personally, I don’t think you can go wrong with a little bling and twine!! So glad to see you at CAS(E) this Sketch!

  4. I love the sentiment on this one Ally. Hope you found some stress relief making this beauty. Its still very CAS , lots of white space. I always love a bit of bling and yours is placed perfectly. Very pretty card. I had a full house yesterday as well so I know what you mean.

  5. Gorgeous card and colors! Love that tree and your bling is perfectly placed 🙂 Thanks for playing this week at CAS(E) this Sketch!

  6. Lovely card, Ally, I always enjoy seeing what you design next! Love the softness of the colors. Thanks for sharing your card with us at the colourQ.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.