Get Well Trendy Trees

For some merciless reason, I had a rough night of sleep last night – only about 1.5 hours of actual sleep.

In the restlessness, I had an idea pop into my head for a card.  I’m glad that one little good thing came out of that, because I don’t think I would have attempted the current Play Date Cafe colors without it.  Lovely colors, really, but I think I would have had a hard time getting them all to work properly without a concrete idea in my mind.

At any rate, between all the day’s tasks, I was able to sleepily create a card for the Play Date Cafe #131 and the CAS-ual Fridays #52 challenges:

I didn’t plan to play along with the CAS-ual Friday challenge, either, because my stamping supplies include very few bird images.  But I shuffled through my stamp catalogs and found two.  I was happy to be able to use my new Trendy Trees supplies, as well as my new Melon Berry pattern paper pack.

Based on the challenge photo, I used Ocean Tides, Aqua Mist, and Melon Berry for my palette of colors (exercising a bit of creative liberty on the type of orange).

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

The little rolling hills are just hand cut by me and impressed with the canvas plate, and I also remembered to send the white panel through with the linen side of the plate this time.  (Way to go, A!)

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Communique Curves Sentiments, Tag Its #2, Trendy Trees (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Aqua Mist, Melon Berry, Ocean Tides, Stamper’s Select White Cardstocks (PTI); DP – Melon Berry Pattern Paper Pack (PTI)
Inks:  Aqua Mist, True Black (PTI)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections)
Tools:  Trendy Trees Dies, Linen/Canvas Impression Plate (PTI)

17 thoughts on “Get Well Trendy Trees

  1. This one is so pretty Ally. I love the way you filled the tree with birds. The melon berry and ocean tides are so good together. This is the perfect get well card.

  2. Oh what a delight this is Ally! Your tree full of birds (and love) is so CUTE!! Great idea sleepy head 😉

  3. Super sweet! The colors you used are so pretty together! I hope you get a nice long sleep tonight 🙂
    Thanks for playing with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

  4. Gorgeous card! The colours are lovely together and I love the CAS design! Hope your spell of insommnia is over!
    Chris x

  5. Such a sweet card, Ally. Love the little birds in the tree and beautiful color combo.
    Sorry you had to think of it in the middle of the night (or morning). I feel your frustration about not sleeping well. Wishing you peaceful and restful nights ahead!

  6. Love your card… The bitty birds sit so well in the trees! Cute scene you made :0)
    So glad you joined us this week at CASual Fridays :0)
    Jenny x

  7. Super sweet, Ally! LOVE those darling, little birds and all your perfectly placed gemstones! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

  8. This is pretty and sweet..what a wonderful get well card, and “tweet” birds:)!! Thanks for joining us for this week’s challenge at CAS-ual Fridays!!

  9. OH! What a beautiful card–LOVE the layers and the paper colors! You nailed this challenge:) Thanks so much for joining in the fun and playing along with us over at the PDCC:)

  10. Wow! This is terrific!! Such beautifully serene colors, and impeccable execution! Thanks so much for playing with us at CAS-ual Fridays! We’re so glad you did!!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.