Masculine Color Throwdown

It took me a while to have some ideas, but I finally came up with a card for the CAS-ual Fridays #77 challenge (for a masculine project) using the Color Throwdown #216 colors.

The idea for this popped into my head as I was pondering what I could create for PrincessM’s and Little Man’s upcoming birthday.  Little Man likes orange and blue, and he kinda likes boats.  I don’t have any car or football stamps, so I thought a boat would be the next best thing.

This is a variation of this card by Debbie Olson, which is featured on the Papertrey Ink product page.  I received my new Lil’ Inker dies a week or so ago, and I wanted to use this stitched rectangle mat die as soon as I could find a chance to do so.

The water portion was cut from PTI’s Enchanted Evening DP using their medium scallop border die.  I used the negative-cut side.  The boat is from the Men of Life stamp set, and the flag is from the Little Princess stamp set.  I stamped 2 of the sails and fussy cut one set to pop on dimensional adhesive.

Obviously, I only went with a smidgen of some of the colors. 😉

Thanks for stopping by today!
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Men of Life, Little Princess, Inside & Out: Birthday (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  White Cardstock (Xpedx); Enchanted Evening DP (PTI)
Inks:  Tuxedo Black (Memento); Enchanted Evening (PTI); Pumpkin Pie (SU!)
Tools:  Stitched Mats – Rectangle Die (Lil’ Inker); Medium Scallop Border Die (PTI)

14 thoughts on “Masculine Color Throwdown

  1. This is darling Ally and perfect for Little Man’s birthday! Love your polka dot water/waves and the tiny pop of orange from the flag! Cute 😉

  2. This is a great card – I’ve been thinking about getting that same rectangle Die, seeing your card makes me want it more 🙂

  3. Awesome card!! Love that paper for the “waves” and the depth you created! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at CAS-ual Fridays!

  4. What a perfect card to combine the challenges! I LOVE the polka dotted waves! Thanks so much for joining us at the Color Throwdown, Ally!!

  5. I love this card! So perfect for your little man:) Thank you for playing along with us at Color Throwdown!

  6. What a wonderful guy card…the little boat is adorable and I love how you created the water!!! Thanks for playing along with us at the Color Throwdown!!!!!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.