Play Date Cafe Roses

Here is a little something for the Play Date Cafe #158 challenge:

I used the Sweet Life stamp for the roses, but I didn’t go through all the stamping steps because I wanted them to have a bold, bright, modern feel.  So I stamped just one step onto Regal Rose cardstock using the same ink for a tone-on-tone effect.  The leaves were done the same way using Wild Wasabi.

The mat layer and text are both Basic Gray, and the sentiment is from PTI’s Heart Prints stamp set.  I scattered a few rhinestones for a little bling.

And on a personal note…

We’ve had a pretty good week with lessons, but I am happy to have a few weekend days to chill. 😉  I was finally able to add in the twins’ math lessons, and they love it!  Thank goodness.  PrincessA has taken to putting her arms around me or resting her head on my shoulder while we sit on the sofa and I read aloud to her, and that makes my heart feel good.  Little Man is on the verge of really taking off with his reading, and I love watching this stage when all the light bulbs start going on in their minds and things start to connect.

And my little PrincessM, who has struggled with pronouncing her ‘r’ sounds ever since beginning to talk, just up and blurted out the most perfect little ‘r’ sound out of nowhere this week, and it was like music to my ears!  Thank the Lord!  I have been waiting and waiting, trying to be patient and not worry too much about speech problems and such.  And when that sound came out of her mouth, it was as though heaven itself opened up and angels began singing the hallelujah chorus, I’m telling you!!  Such a sweet, sweet little life moment.

In other good news, we were finally able to figure out what the stench was coming from the children’s bathroom.  We think a little person (ahem) stuffed a bit of food down the little emergency drain hole at the top of the sink – who knows how long ago, based on the stench!  And after the toilet tank in the other bathroom sprung a small leak and then finally cracked, we were able to fix it fairly quickly, so things are looking up, I suppose. 😉

We have the twins’ birthday up this week, so we will be bowling, making cake, and opening presents the day before Thanksgiving.  I can’t believe my twin babies are 6 years old!!  Then we have dinner with my family on Thanksgiving day, dinner with Hubby’s family the next day, and then Saturday to ourselves to put up our Christmas tree and decorations.  Since we all have been a little bit sick this past week (and a little bit sleep deprived for me as a result), I am really hoping that we can escape the family parties next week without having to become sick again.

I hope you all are having a good weekend.  Thanks so much for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  The Sweet Life, Heart Prints (PTI); Text It (Waltzingmouse Stamps)
Paper/Cardstock:  Oatmeal Cardstock (Wplus9); Basic Gray, Regal Rose, Wild Wasabi Cardstocks (SU!)
Inks:  Basic Gray, Regal Rose, Wild Wasabi (SU!)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections)
Tools:  The Sweet Life Dies (PTI)

5 thoughts on “Play Date Cafe Roses

  1. Happy Sunday, Ally! So glad to hear the family news update, you have quite a brood. : ) Our grandson also has some speech issues (he’s not quite 3, so we haven’t been too alarmed) but it’s good to hear that it can and probably will be fine given enough time. I hope your family weekend and celebrations together will be filled with great joy and NO sickness.

    AND I love your beautiful card-the bit of text background with Sweet Life is a lovely combination and the bold sentiment pulls it all together with balance and style-Ally style, that is, which I continue to admire greatly!

  2. Aww loved this post Ally, so happy your daughter said he r correctly and that it made you so happy…God sure know when to send us those little extras when we need them most. Glad you figured out the smell,lol.
    Your card is beautiful and I love the script behind it,with the scattered bling. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your beautiful family.

  3. What a pretty card Ally! Love your vibrant roses and splashes of bling. Life brings the best surprises with the little ones in our lives! Glad all of the studies are going well and those are are beginning to roll. Now about that smell…LOL!!! Wishing you a blessed Thanksgiving and keeping fingers crossed for no illness.

  4. Ally your rose card is really lovely, the two tones of pinks is stunning. I am so glad to hear that all in well in the house, that lessons are going well and that you found out the cause of the stench! Enjoy them being 6 and remember the years go so quickly–savor every moment.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.