Fusion Card Challenge #2

Welcome back to the Fusion Card Challenge!  Did you have fun with last week’s first challenge??  I had such a fun time checking out all the entries, which I thought were absolutely fantastic!  Y’all are so creative! 😉

We have another great Fusion challenge for you today:

02

Remember:  You can use either the sketch, or the inspiration photo, or you can make Fusion instead with both sides of the challenge.

I admit to having a tough time with this one.  I made 3 cards based on this photo, because I just couldn’t quite get it right!  At first, I pretty much just copied the pillow patterns for a masculine birthday card.  And then I tried to use my Quatrefoil die with the colors to create something a little more feminine, which merely resembled the photo a little.  I finally figured that I was taking it too literally, so I walked away from the patterns and just went with the colors and the modern, graphic feel of it.

Here is the creation with which I was most satisfied:

BDAY-013-01

I mimicked the chevron points by using stars instead, and I pulled in the alternating pattern of the colors by using similarly colored cardstocks behind the Piestra Tile die cut opening in the white panel.  The sentiment is from my new Stylish Sentiments: Birthday stamp set.  I used a variety of star dies, as listed below.

BDAY-013-4in1

I basically let my sweet husband have total control over the end result of this one.  Initially, I had a bunch of tiny stars surrounding the big star, but not glued down yet.  I showed it to him and he said he would “prefer it without all those.”  I asked him about rhinestones for a little sparkle, and he said that “wouldn’t be necessary.”  LOL!  So this card is exactly how he would prefer it, as a man.  Can’t get much more straightforward than that! 😉

Please stop by to see what the rest of the Fusion Design Team and Guest Designers have created and to see the details for this challenge.  I hope you’ll participate with us again!

Deanna Jean / Kelly Griglione / Brandi Hall (GD) / Amy Tsuruta /
Michelle Williams (GD) / Kay Miller / Lyndal Higgins / Sylvia Blum (GD)

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Stylish Sentiments: Birthday (PTI)
Paper/Cardstock:  White Cardstock (Xpedx); Simply Chartreuse, True Black Cardstocks (PTI); Misc Blue Cardstock
Inks:  Tuxedo Black (Memento)
Tools:  Star Stax Die (MFT); Starry Die (Verve); Star Prints Die (PTI); Piestra Tile Die (Memory Box)

10 thoughts on “Fusion Card Challenge #2

  1. LOL I LOVE your hubby’s input Ally!! This is such a fun card. I love the patterns you used and I think the stars work perfectly. The Memory Box Piestra Tile die is fabulous and the colors look so pretty behind it!

  2. I’m so excited to have seen this post – your card is stunning! Thank you too for making me aware of this exciting new challenge site – it looks like it is going to be a lot of fun.

  3. Oh you are so funny! I love the way you gave total control over this card to your husband. Oh course he said no sequins! I do love the end results. Wonderful!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.